# Visualisation Snapshots

Available since : 2.8

Often, analysts want to keep track of evidence represented in the form of a graph visualisation. To support this need, Hume offers the ability to create snapshots, producing a static, permanent and read-only capture of a visualisation.

# Creating a Snapshot

At any moment in a graph visualisation, you can click on the camera icon :

To create a snapshot, you will need to give it a name :

When saving, a helper message will appear at the bottom of the screen offering you two immediate actions :

A) Copying the snapshot url to the clipboard so you can keep refer to it in other systems

B) Opening the snapshot in a new browser tab

# Retrieving snapshots

In the Visualisations overview page, you have a new Snapshots item in the left menu where you can list all your snapshots.

Clicking on one of them will let you view your visualisation snapshot in the same state as when you created it.

You can identify you are in a snapshot view mode with the help of the Snapshot badge in the bottom left corner of the visualisation snapshot:

# Lifecycle of snapshots

Snapshots are permanent and keep track of the styles and schema used when creating it. This means that snapshots withstand any changes you're making to the schema.

In a nutshell, visualisation snapshots keep a copy of the following information when being created :

  • The perspective schema
  • The styles
  • The grouping configurations
  • The timebar configurations
  • The visualisation data

Snapshots are read-only and thus any operation made on a snapshot will not be persisted, for eg :

  • Moving a node
  • Changing the style
  • Double-clicking

Moreover, snapshots are not able to connect anymore to the underlying data source.

# Security of snapshots

Snapshot visibility as well as editing and deletion follow the same security checks as for the visualisations :

  • Managers can view, edit and delete all snapshots
  • Explorers can only view, edit and delete their own snapshots

# Deleting a Knowledge Graph with existing snapshots

Knowledge Graphs cannot be deleted if snapshots exist in them. Managers have the opportunity to delete all snapshots at once before deleting the Knowledge Graph.

# Enabling the Snapshot Feature

To enable the snapshot feature, you need to add the following setting to your environment :

hume:
  ...
  feature:
    snapshots:
      enabled: true